Derry v Limerick

Derry City face Limerick at the Brandywell on Friday night knowing that a win will guarantee the northerners fourth spot in the 2013 Premier Division. That will be enough to qualify for the Europa League at the expense of Shamrock Rovers for the second year running if Sligo can lift the FAI Cup on November 3rd.

Limerick probably need all three points if they are to leapfrog Munster rivals Cork City for a top half finish but the bad news for both Super Blues and Hoops supporters is that Limerick have never defeated Derry in a league game. Not once, in 25 attempts.

Derry reached the League of Ireland top flight in 1987 and Noel King’s contract was terminated in October of that year. Jim McLaughlin’s first game as caretaker manager saw South African striker Owen Da Gama grab a hat-trick in a 5-0 home win over Limerick.

Derry took five points out of nine against Billy Hamilton’s side in their 1988/89 title winning campaign and went on to crush them 7-0 at the Brandywell the following season. Three different players scored a penalty in that game – Mick Neville, Liam Coyle and Felix Healy who completed his hat-trick from the spot.

Derry maintained a 100% record over Limerick in 1990/91 winning twice in Rathbane. Limerick came back up as First Division champions under Sam Allardyce and in the 1992/93 season, now managed by Noel King, all four meetings with the Candystripes were drawn. Victory continued to elude Limerick in 1993/94 when they were relegated once again.

The teams met in a promotion/relegation playoff in 2003 and after a scoreless draw at Pike Rovers Sports Ground, a sensational 14-minute hat-trick from young striker Mark Farren – his first senior goals for the club – spurred Derry City through to the final where they went on to defeat Finn Harps.

Derry were demoted to the First Division ahead of the 2010 season for financial reasons. Both teams were considered title contenders but Limerick drew a blank in the three encounters as Derry dug their way out of what some have dubbed ‘the graveyard’ at the first time of asking.

Last season, Limerick won promotion to the Premier Division for the first time in 19 years. The Shannonsiders were within minutes of banishing the Derry hoodoo and securing their first ever win on the banks of the Foyle before late goals by Mark Griffin and Rory Patterson sent Derry to the top of the table.

That was in May, and in their other clash this season in July at Thomond Park a second half goal by David McDaid was all that separated their sides. The last time Limerick managed to defeat Derry in a competitive game was in the 2001/02 season when they became only the second First Division club to win the League Cup.

Limerick recovered from a first half strike from Derry teenager Kevin Deery to claim a memorable victory in the first leg at Jackman Park. Ciaran Foley restored parity on the stroke of half-time before defender Derek Whyte converted from the penalty spot with seven minutes remaining.

Prior to the second leg, Derry boss Kevin Mahon was under the impression that a 1-0 win would have earned his team the trophy under the away goals rule. However, referee David McKeon informed both teams before the game that this was not the case.

A Liam Coyle penalty left the final tied 2-2 on aggregate and the game went into extra time and then penalties, with Limerick emerging victorious after goalkeeper Jimmy Fyffe saved shots from both Eddie McCallion and Gareth Mullan.

Derry also defeated Limerick in the 1990/91 final at the Brandywell and the 2006 semi-final at Hogan Park. The clubs have never met in the FAI Cup but they do have a bit of history in All-Ireland competition when Derry were participating in the Irish League.

Limerick won 3-2 on aggregate in the 1947/48 Inter-City Cup first round and lost 5-1 in Cliftonville at the same stage the following season. In the 1970/71 Texaco Cup first round, Derry progressed 4-3 over two legs and eventually fell to Wolverhampton Wanderers in the semi-finals.

Premier Division
11 Oct 1987 – Derry 5-0 Limerick [Da Gama 3, Cunningham, Healy]
27 Dec 1987 – Limerick 2-2 Derry [McGonigle 2; Hegarty, Quigg]
13 Mar 1988 – Derry 3-2 Limerick [Cunningham, Speak, Carlyle; Tuite, Behan]
11 Sep 1988 – Limerick 1-1 Derry [Walsh; Carlyle]
4 Dec 1988 – Derry 1-1 Limerick [Healy; Walsh]
12 Feb 1989 – Limerick 1-3 Derry [Hyde; Coll og, Coyle, Coady]
5 Nov 1989 – Derry 2-0 Limerick [Hegary, Krstic]
12 Nov 1989 – Limerick 1-2 Derry [Mullane; Curran, Keay]
28 Apr 1990 – Derry 7-0 Limerick [Neville pen, Healy 3 (1 pen), Coyle pen, Krstic, Speak]
11 Nov 1990 – Limerick 0-4 Derry [Gauld 2 pens, Curran, Vaudequin]
18 Nov 1990 – Derry 1-0 Limerick [Gauld pen]
21 Apr 1990 – Limerick 0-2 Derry [Carlyle, Gorman]
30 Aug 1992 – Limerick 0-0 Derry
15 Nov 1992 – Derry 1-1 Limerick [Trainor; De Mange]
31 Jan 1993 – Limerick 1-1 Derry [Mumby; O’Brien]
21 Mar 1993 – Derry 1-1 Limerick [Bacon; Ryan]
24 Oct 1993 – Derry 0-0 Limerick
31 Oct 1993 – Limerick 0-1 Derry [Gauld pen]
3 May 2013 – Derry 2-1 Limerick [Griffin, Patterson; Folan]
28 Jul 2013 – Limerick 0-1 Derry [McDaid]

First Division
12 Mar 2010 – Limerick 0-1 Derry [McDaid]
21 May 2010 – Derry 0-0 Limerick
20 Aug 2010 – Limerick 0-1 Derry [Farren]

Promotion/Relegation Playoff
3 Dec 2003 – Limerick 0-0 Derry
6 Dec 2003 – Derry 4-0 Limerick [Farren 3, McCallion]



Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: